Current: Christopher Williams  | Natalia Hasler | Surendra Shrestha

Former: Listed Below

Chris Williams

CWilliams [at]

B.A., Biology/Environmental Studies, Bucknell University (1996)
M.S., Watershed Science, Colorado State University (2000)
Ph.D., Environmental Science, Duke University (2004)

Professor Christopher A. Williams joined the faculty in the Graduate School of Geography in Fall 2008. Prior to coming to Clark University he was a Research Scientist at Colorado State University’s Natural Resource Ecology Laboratory, followed by faculty appointment as Assistant Research Scientist with the Goddard Earth Sciences and Technology Center of the University of Maryland Baltimore County and based in the Biospheric Sciences Branch of NASA’s Goddard Space Flight Center.

More about Chris here

Detailed CV

Google Scholar Page

ResearchGate Website

Natalia Hasler

NHasler [at]

B. Eng, M.S., Environmental Engineering, École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (1995)
Ph.D., Atmospheric Sciences, École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (2002)

Dr. Hasler’s research is broadly centered on land-atmosphere interactions, with detailed focus on a) precipitation response to land cover changes such as deforestation and conversion to agriculture, and b) determining controls on terrestrial water and carbon dioxide exchanges with the atmosphere. She employs a variety of methods including synthesis of flux-tower observations, regional climate simulation (RAMS), and general circulation modeling. Presently, she is assisting our group with mapping and monitoring forest carbon stocks across forests of the conterminous US and modeling seasonal and interannual variability of surface-atmosphere exchange of carbon dioxide.

Detailed CV

Surendra Shrestha

SShrestha [at]

B.S. Forestry, Institute of Forestry, Tribhuvan University, Nepal (2009)
M.S. Forest Resources, University of Georgia (2016)
Ph.D. Geography, Clark University (expected 2022)

Surendra Shrestha is interested in impacts of land use and climate change on hydrology, land-atmosphere interactions. His Master’s research examined hydrological impacts of land use and land cover changes in Georgia, as well as land use changes related to increasing demand for wood pellets in the US South. During Bachelor studies in Nepal, Surendra performed thesis research assessing the status of forest condition and plant diversity in a a community forest of Puranchaur VDC of the Kaski District.

Former Members

Post-doctoral Research Scientists
Dr. Huan Gu (2015-2018)
Dr. Myroslava Khomik (2012-2013)
Dr. Bardan Ghimire (2012)
Dr. Christopher Schwalm (2008-2011)

PhD Students
Yu Zhou (PhD Geography ’21)
Li Xi (PhD Geography pursued)
Tong Jiao (PhD Geography ’20)
Richard MacLean (PhD Geography pursued)
Melanie Vanderhoof (PhD Geography ’14)
Bardan Ghimire (PhD Geography ’12)

MS Students
Savannah Cooley (MS GISci ’17)
Alexander Kappel (MS GISci ’14)
Marcus Pasay (MS ES&P ’13)
Graham Twibell (MS ES&P ’11)

BA Students
Abby Beilman (BA ES ’23, Mass EEA Internship Advisor)
Cate Brown (BA ES ESS & Poli Sci ’22, Summer Weiller Fellow)
Ashna Siddhi (BA Econ & ES ECB ’22, Summer Weiller Fellow)
Caroline Williams (BA ES ’20, Thesis Advisor)
Tyler Anderson (BA ES ’18, NOAA Fellowship Advisor ’17)
Spring Pillsbury (BA ES ’17, Honors Mentor & Committee ’17)
Saira Khan (BA Geog ’16, NOAA Fellowship Advisor ’15)
Corey Dickinson (BA Geog ’15, Geller Fellowship Advisor ’15)
Melat Seyoum (BA minor Geog ’15, Internship Advisor ’15)
Evan Marshall (BA Geog ’14, Internship Advisor ’14)
Lucas Earl (BA Geog ’14, NOAA Fellowship Advisor ’13)
Thorsen Akerely (BA ES ’13; Summer Fellow ’12)
Alexander Kappel (BA ES ’13; NSF REU ’12; ES Thesis Advisor)
Marcus Pasay (BA ES ’12; NSF REU ’11)
Krittika Govil (BA ES ’11; Summer Fellow ’10)
Angela Marshall (BA ES ’11; Honors)
Michelle Smith (BA Geog ’11; NSF REU ’09)
Graham Twibell (BA ES ’10; NSF REU ’09)

NSF REU Mentees via Harvard Forest LTER Program
Alayna Johnson (’14)
Joshua Alaniz (’14)
Lowell Chamberlain (’13)
Rebecca Walker (’13)
Alex Kappel (’13)
Paul Quackenbush (’12)
Katherine Chute (’11)
Crystal Garcia (’10)